top of page
  • AutorenbildStella DuCrainer

Horror Lady



  • Title: The Woman in Black

  • Author: Susan Hill

  • Publisher: Penguin Random House

  • ISBN: 9780099288473 

  • Edition: Paperback

  • Publication date: 10 October 1983 

Content:

"Arthur Kipps, a junior solicitor, is summoned to attend the funeral of Mrs Alice Drablow, the sole inhabitant of Eal Marsh House. The house stands at the end of a causeway, wreathed in fog and mystery, but it is not until he glimpses a wasted young woman, dressed all in black, at the funeral, that a creeping sense of unease begins to take hold, a feeling deepened by the reluctance of the locals to talk of the woman in black - and her rerrible purpose."

Opinion:

I fell totally in love with this book. First, I watched the movie which I did not find that nice but the book really got me. I could not stop reading until I read the last page. It was so thrilling. The story of Kipps was told with this specific kind of atmosphere of Gothic fiction. The whole story was filled with horror.

The protagonists are also quite interesting, especially Arthur Kipps, who does not want to stop until he got cursed too. I actually could not decide if he is brave or just an idiot to not stop even when the signs told him to.


Conclusion:

This book is totally amazing and definitely more thrilling than the movie. Therefore, I would definitely recommend it to all fans of horror and ghosts.



6 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen

Perfekte Mischung

Nebel

bottom of page